Saturday, freshly baked bread and -16°

Today I woke up to the smell of freshly baked bread throughout the apartment. It was Graeme who had baked for breakfast. Such a nice feeling.

He has been so inspired to bake lately, and I of course love it. We had sandwiches: egg and caviar for me and him, cheese and turkey for Moa. Coffee and juice. It’s one of my favorite moments of the week, to have breakfast together on a weekend morning.

After breakfast, we pottered around home and got ready to go for a long walk to Trekanten. It was so cold and sunny, my absolute favorite type of weather.

There were so many people skating on the lake. I think it’s so beautiful. I have wanted to go iceskating since I moved to Sweden. Many winters have passed, and I haven’t done it yet. I promised Graeme that next year I will buy skates for the whole family, and we will go to Trekanten and join everyone else!

We walked all the way to Liljeholmen, bought a hotdog for Moa, and walked back home. I love being outside when it’s really cold. It’s even more cozy to come home and slip into our pyjamas.

The rest of the evening we were at home doing our own things. Moa watched a movie, Graeme made music, and I looked for different platforms for my blog. Then I brought out watercolors, and Moa and I painted while Graeme baked cardamom buns. Such a lovely evening.

I posted a poll on my Instagram asking which language I should blog in. Most people voted for English (49%) and Spanish (43%), but I really feel like blogging in Swedish. Can I blog in Swedish even if I’m not Swedish? It doesn’t feel strange to me. Maybe because I only read Swedish blogs and listen to Swedish podcasts. At the same time, I don’t think many people will read this if I write in Swedish? Ah well, we’ll see.

Anyway, it’s great that you’re here! And thanks for reading my first real blog post. Welcome!

10 comments


10 responses to “Saturday, freshly baked bread and -16°”

  1. Ingvild Avatar

    Such delicious baked goods!

    1. Marta Vargas Avatar

      First comment in the blog! Thank you for the support 💘

  2. Taniasfamily Avatar
    Taniasfamily

    Encuentro maravilloso volver al tiempo lento de los blogs. Gracias, estoy segura que el tuyo me va a encantar. Un abrazo

    1. Marta Vargas Avatar

      Verdad? Opino lo mismo… Muchas gracias, espero que este espacio te guste! 🌼

  3. Caroline Avatar

    Hej hej !
    You could write your posts in Swedish and English, so I’d practice my Swedish 😉
    It’s lovely to discover your own space, outside of IG.
    Looking forward to your next article 🙂

    1. Marta Vargas Avatar

      Thank you so much Caroline! I think there will be some posts in Swedish… 😌 Thank you so much for following, hope you like this space!

  4. Nadja Avatar
    Nadja

    Angående ice skating: nästa vinter innan jul så borde du och Graeme ha en skridsko-date i Kungsträdgården ☺️ Liten isbana, upptänt med ljusslingor, musik som spelas i högtalarna och allmän Christmas rom com känsla runtomkring!

    Och: så snygg design här! 😍

    Kram Nadja

    1. Marta Vargas Avatar

      Oj vilken dröm!! Och man kan hyra skridskorna där, eller hur? Toppen idé. Det ska vi göra!

      Tack fina du! 💘

  5. vidanude Avatar

    Estaba deseando leer más blogs. Me parecen más cercanos, íntimos, personales… Que las RRSS. No conozco muchos ahora mismo pero el de Nathalie Myrberg me gusta mucho. Presiento que el tuyo me va a encantar. Me está pareciendo muy inspirador y agradable de leer. Es como un abrazo cálido y acogedor ❤

    1. Marta Vargas Avatar

      Tu comentario me ha hecho tan feliz! Gracias, gracias. Hace mucho que pensaba en hacer un blog, pero al mismo tiempo pensaba que seguramente nadie querría leerlo porque estamos acostumbrados al ritmo frenético de TikTok e Instagram. Pero a mí también me encanta sentarme a leer blogs. El de Nathalie es precioso! Te recomiendo Johanna Bradford, Elsa Billgren y Sandra Beijer. Un abrazo!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.